Bike Ride October 25, 2012

It was a spectacular autumn day in central Ohio.  I had the day off work and since the weather is supposed to be crummy on Saturday I went for a “long” ride today.

I was pleasantly surprised that the bike path detour that had been in place for two years was gone.  It’s great that it is gone.  It makes getting through campus on game day so much easier.  Instead of fighting the traffic on Olentangy River Road and Lane Avenue the path takes you under Lane Avenue.  You miss all that traffic.  Here’s the improved path underneath the Dodridge Street bridge.

Path Under Dodridge Street

See how nice the weather is?  This is COSI, formerly Central (fixed 11-1 thanks Millie) High School.  The movie Teachers was filmed there in the 80s.

COSI

I’ve posted pictures of the Supreme Court Building previously – here, here and here.  Today, since it was Thursday, I was able to get in the building.  Wow, the place is opulent.  The first picture is the foyer outside the courtroom.

Foyer

Entrance to the courtroom.

Courtroom Entrance.

This is the courtroom.

Courtroom (My pic was bad so I borrowed this one)

The ceiling is worthy of Buckingham Palace.

Supreme Court Ceiling

More ceiling elsewhere in the building.

This is inside the Civic Center Drive entrance.


Entrance to the Law Library on the 11th floor.

Law Library

Law Library Reading Room.

Law Library Reading Room

Law Library

Did you notice there was nobody in the place?  Other than security at the Front Street entrance and a couple staffers, I pretty much had the place to myself.

After I left the Supreme Court, I rode up to the William Green state office building.  It is next to the Nationwide Building.  These pictures are of the atrium.

On the way back up north I stopped at Goodale Park to eat.  There’s two elephants on top of the fountain with water shooting out of their horns.

Goodale Park

Back to Antrim, 25 miles.

About Tracy M

I live in Lewis Center, Ohio & recently retired from JP Morgan Chase. I enjoy many outdoor activities and do a lot of biking. If anyone would like to join me for a ride just let me know.
This entry was posted in Columbus, Ohio, Cyling and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bike Ride October 25, 2012

  1. Jon Baxter says:

    YES, the Supreme Court building is pretty amazing. Now if one wanted to look at it purely from the taxpayers point of view the state should 1/ sell it to a developer with the condition that all the major rooms and interiors be renovated and the building never be torn down. 2/ the law books be donated to some library, since everyone uses online sources. 3/ Put all the state justices’ offices in a portable buildings like the students have at crowded schools. 4/ hold the proceedings for the Supreme Court in the conference rooms at the nearest Holiday Inn. Lawyers and judges don’t deserve such nice buildings.

    Again great pix from the bicycle dude!!!

  2. Carol says:

    Great pictures! You find the most interesting places.

Leave a comment