Bike Ride – April 24, 2022

Last weekend it was snowing. Today the temperature was already above 70 when I got to Tuttle Park at about 9:30 AM. I got on the Olentangy Bike Trail but soon exited it when I got to Ohio Stadium. The last time I rode the trail was closed in two places and I wanted to avoid the detours. I went east on Woody Hayes Drive which turns into Woodruff Avenue. When I got past the architecture school building, Knowlton Hall, which I think is the ugliest building in the world (see below), I took the sidewalk to Niel Avenue.

Knowlton Hall

I took Niel Avenue South. Went by Mirror Lake.

Mirror Lake

Further south on Neil goes through Victorian Village, which is a very neat neighborhood of restored old homes. East on Buttles to Goodale Park. Just inside the park was this beautiful flowering tree. It framed the Circus House nicely.

Circus House/Goodale Park
Lake at Goodale Park

Went west on Park Street and came to this hotel that I mentioned in September 2020 as being under construction. They kept the facades of the original building to maintain the “character” of the neighborhood and built the hotel within.

AC Hotel Columbus

Stopped at the Scioto Mile.

Scioto Mile

I went over to Franklinton to see some of the new construction. It’s good to see that they are developing that side of the river. Franklinton has been an eyesore and a slum for decades. These pictures are across from the COSI building.

Franklinton
Franklinton
Franklinton
Franklinton

Back to Tuttle. Stopped briefly at state house and Ohio State.

About Tracy M

I live in Lewis Center, Ohio & recently retired from JP Morgan Chase. I enjoy many outdoor activities and do a lot of biking. If anyone would like to join me for a ride just let me know.
This entry was posted in Bike Trails, Columbus, Ohio, Cyling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Bike Ride – April 24, 2022

  1. Jon B says:

    If you know any architects, tell them what you think of the architecture building at OSU. It would be interesting to see what they say. (btw, I’m in Lexington, KY now, pretty close to you). Jon

Leave a comment